Laserfiche WebLink
MINUTES <br /> OF THE STUDY SESSION <br /> OF THE EDINA CITY COUNCIL, <br /> HELD TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 27, 2007 <br /> Mayor Hovland called the meeting to order at 11:30 A.M. in the Community Room of <br /> Edina City Hall. Answering rollcall were: Members Bennett, Housh, Masica, and <br /> Mayor Hovland. Present from the Edina Recycling and Solid Waste Commission were: <br /> Chair Bryant, Commissioners Brownell, Latham, Nelson, and Wilson. Staff present <br /> included: Gordon Hughes, City Manager; Heathe r Worthington, Assistant City <br /> Manager; Ceil Smith, Assistant to the City Manager; Jennifer Bennerotte, Marketing & <br /> Communications Director; Sherry Engelmann, Sanitarian; Solvei Wilmot, Recycling <br /> Coordinator; and Debra Mangen, City Clerk. Also in attendance were representatives <br /> from the Edina League of Women Voters, Paulette Hastings, Susanne Kerwin, and Julie <br /> Risser with Karen Platt, from the Edina Garden Council. Jeni Shoemate and Ronald <br /> Rich, Edina residents were also in attendance <br /> Assistant Manager Worthington reviewed the staff report on Edina's Recycling and <br /> Solid Waste Commission's Scope and Mission. She noted the recommendations of the <br /> Edina League of Women Voters 2005 Study of Renewable Energy, reported survey <br /> results of thirteen metro cities, and offered a draft mission and scope for a revised <br /> Commission. The proposed purpose was suggested as: "to advance and support the <br /> health and development of the citizens and natural environment of Edina through <br /> environmental protection, conservation efforts, energy reduction and waste reduction." <br /> The Council, Commission, residents and staff reviewed and discussed the proposed <br /> purpose, role, responsibilities and membership of a revised Commission. <br /> Following discussion, staff was directed to prepare revised mission, scope, roles and <br /> responsibilities and proposed membership for review by the Council in early April. <br /> Mayor Hovland adjourned the meeting at 1:30 P.M. <br /> Respectfully submitted, <br /> Debra Mangen, bty C11rk <br />